Defence and national security

The Canadian defence industry is a cornerstone of domestic security and economic growth. Canadian military procurement programs contribute to the growth of aerospace companies and generate considerable spinoffs across Canada and Québec.

These major contracts support innovation, maintain stimulating and high value-added jobs, and contribute to the health of our industry. Moreover, companies benefiting from military contracts are able to demonstrate their capabilities and their competitiveness internationally. Their expertise can be leveraged through new programs, both in the military and civil aviation sectors.

To take advantage of the potential spinoffs of federal government military procurement, in 2008 Aéro Montréal established the National Security and Defence Working Group, who became the National Security and Defence Committee, composed of 14 individuals from three areas of the industry involved in the defence and security markets. The Committee’s mandate is to assure the planning, coordination and implementation of a concerted action plan to respond to the major issues of defence and civil security and promote the industrial capacity of the Québec’s aerospace cluster in matters of national security.

Members of the working group Defence and national security


Sylvain Lefrançois
Director, Business Development
Safran-Sagem Canada

  • Pierre Ayotte, Groupe DCM (Conseiller)
  • Giovanni Bevilacqua, Alta Précision
  • Luc DeBargis, Lockheed Martin Canada
  • Marc Dubuc, DCM Aéronautique
  • Marie-France Dubuc, Investissement Québec
  • Sylvain Duhamel, Safran Canada
  • Daniel Guertin, Esterline CMC Electronics
  • Jean Hurtubise, CAE
  • Francis Leblanc, Bell Helicopter Textron Canada
  • Paul Mercier, L-3 Com
  • Keith Meredith, Aerolnsight
  • Marc Moffat, Centre d'excellence sur les drones
  • Jean-Marc Rochon, MESI
  • Christian Roy, Aviatech
  • Puthy Soupin, Marinvent
  • Peter Timeo, Héroux Devtek